Tonight we Sleep…

"#4 and the 'baby' of the pack of 4 felines here in our family; Mama Cat & "MC" for short... Asleep directly above me as I sit at our office desk..."

“#4 and the ‘baby’ of the pack of 4 felines here in our family; Mama Cat & “MC” for short… Asleep in her favorite basket I picked up at a garage sale last fall. She is directly above me near the ceiling as I sit at our office desk and type this…”

At first I thought it was only me as I awoke from a good nights sleep; yet as the day stretched on I noticed I wasn’t alone in this relaxing, peaceful, recuperative, sleepy energy that despite how much rest we’ve all had still feel compelled to rest some more… And then some more…

I watched my husband usually fresh out of bed and ready to roll wrapped up in his heavyweight plush long manly fleece stark white man-robe nestled up on the couch his feet warm & cozy in his knee-high Ugg boots with Whitey one of our many beloveds sound asleep on his chest along with him no more than an hour after I myself crawled out from the cocoon of our bed…

Actually they both were sound asleep and so peaceful. This only after they’d both been awake for a mere 30 minutes if that only to fall back off to sleep releasing themselves to this universal energy shift that began to work its magic late last evening…

I felt it too. I still feel it 16 hours later.  This energy shift is amazing and screaming at so many of us to hear it after the intensity of the past few months which began this new year… From the time Sugar and Sissy sounded their like-clock-work 7:30AM dog alarm which starts with their nails striking the nearly 60 year-old hard wood floors in need of refinishing as they shake themselves awake for no apparent human-known provocation making their way to our bedroom doorway to Sissy’s closed mouth barely audible to most whine as she stands just outside our bedroom door knowing the boundaries in place yet making her presence known.

She’s extremely smart & wise for her nearly 14 years of age in human years that is as she respects the rules yet always seems to figure out a way to be noticed and heard while doing so.

Snatched from the deep sleep that had finally found me after nearly a year of involuntary insomnia I drug myself out of bed as she refused to stop her alarm from sounding until I did so, not wanting to disturb Miguel as he was finally getting a good night and morning rest too with no apparent signs of waking anytime soon I crept out of the room closing the doors behind me…

As I made my way to the kitchen still mostly asleep navigating my steps out of sheer repetition as my eyes still trying to focus my body led me on the same journey I make each morning but not before swinging into the master bath just outside our bedroom door to the right of it actually to check on Ted making sure he made it through the night which he did and was still sound asleep too unappreciative of my over protective system as I opened up his “room” which had closed him safely in alone for the night so that none of the cats could do what they do as nocturnal creatures of havoc and curiousity…

Despite how much my body, mind, soul and spirit told me they wanted to rest and recuperate today I forced myself to stay awake tend to my responsibilities and continue onward with the mounds of paperwork and submissions which seem to rule me anymore.  Deadlines and the timeliness of filing said docs overruled natures calling for this day.

However while I did so I took refuge and solace each time I looked up perched from my spot seated on the floor in the office surrounded by the mounds and hills of paperwork.  As I looked up throughout this day I was reminded of why I enjoy it so much. This particular spot affords me a view of our kitchen, sunroom and living room all at once allowing me to see my husband and all 8 of our beloved dogs and cats sprawled out and sleeping uncontrollably yet indescribably peacefully off and on all day long waking long enough to relieve themselves outside, take a lap or three of fresh water, verify my exact location within the home just incase I decided after decades of consistent devotion and attentiveness to them to finally abandon them by climbing out the bedroom window before they made their way back to their lofty baby beds after verifying my exact location only to fall back asleep; once again…

Ted too.  Ted the toad was knocked the hell out after he ate his brunch timed meal of the day.  He’s sleeping now as well and I tried to capture a photo of him but the glare of the blinding flash from my dying camera phone isn’t kind to him up against his glass terrarium sanctuary nor necessary so after two failed attempts at decent photo’s I abandoned the mission sated in the real-time knowledge of his comfort and rest.

I still have so much paperwork to get through and am beat.  Tired and cold to the bone with these chilling nights of late however I soaked in a hotter & longer then usual bubble bath inhaling the vapors of eucalyptus, lavender and tangerine essential oils tonight which has managed to defrost my aching body for the first time today and sooth me even if I did nearly drift off to sleep while doing so…

I’ve neglected my beloved blog lately but only due to the demands of reality the past week which has left me tired and lacking in endurance even if the drafts I’ve been creating to post are piling up it does feel good to touch base and check in again reminding me of how much I enjoy the process of writing and absorbing the writings of others too which seem to take me out of and away from my own life; a welcome vacation and stimulation of my mind and spirit not to mention often times inspiring & forming a bond somewhere along the way…

" Whitey aka: Wowie Asleep on the couch close to Miguel and a loner by nature. Her & Tiny the calico are sisters; born of a mother cat at a dairy farm 8 or so years ago... Wowie and Tiny are Daddy's girls lol. Only they are! ;)"

” Whitey aka: Wowie (WOWW…WEEEE…)
Asleep on the couch close to Miguel and a loner by nature. Her & Tiny the Calico are sisters; born of the same mother cat at a dairy farm 8 or so years ago when they were rescued…
Wowie and Tiny are Daddy’s girls lol. Only they are! ;)”

I’ve already mentioned my pictures leave much to be desired but tonight I leave you with pics of our 4 cats as they are passed the hell out and blissfully so.  They are afforded the luxury of living here with us where the demands of the wild and domesticated human responsibilities don’t affect them quite as much as they used to.

Tonight we all sleep…

"Sylvester aka: Syl and his sister Tiny... In this house we are all sisters and brothers regardless of who birthed us... Sylvester is approximately 11 years-young as he came to me as a rescued kitten... Tiny and Whitey are sisters and arrived about 8 years ago..."

“Sylvester aka: Syl and his sister Tiny… In this house we are all sisters, brothers & kin regardless of who birthed us…
Sylvester is approximately 11 years-young as he came to me as a rescued kitten in 2004…
Tiny and Whitey are sisters and arrived about 8 years ago… Tonight we all sleep…”

 

Leave a comment