KiCk AsS Cheezy Bean Dip: Hot

Okay so although this may not be as ultra low-carb as I’d prefer it be it’s still much lower in carbs served along with lower-carb tortilla chips than it could be sans them… It’s still damn low.  Just sayin…

However this Cheezy Bean Dip is far from low in fat, calories & flavor.

Warning: I’m about to boast. In the 10+ years that I’ve been concocting, serving & personally devouring this recipe not even the most picky ass, drive-you-up-a-wall eater ends up not loving it and asking me for the recipe.

Low-Carb Cheezy Bean Dip

Cheezy Bean Dip after only 22 minutes @ 400 degrees & right out of the oven… Underneath her browned cheezy goodness she’s smooth, creamy and satisfying…

Why?  Truthfully it doesn’t make any logical sense but sometimes stuff is just that amazing.  And sometimes simple & easy is better.

This recipe is one of them.

It’s simple, quick, easy and filled with as much flavor, richness and satisfying creaminess and yumminess as you could possibly want.

You’re in control of the ingredients.
Plain and simple.

And now a stroll down memory lane…

I first discovered this dip over 13 years ago from Sheridan.  A gal I worked with when I was working in the bakery department at the only Food 4 Less in our tiny country town.

Oh the memories…

Yes she ate like a garbage dump dweller and couldn’t cook to save her own life BUT she admitted these facts & still rocked the hell out of this appetizer.  Or meal depending on how you look at it.  This is why I loved her so much.

Sometimes a gal just wants some dip and nothing else for her dinner, breakfast or lunch.

I’m one of those gals…

I’ve always loved beans and refried beans in particular. So when I made the switch to a low-carb lifestyle I kept this recipe and have continued to make it just serve it with lower carb tortilla chips.

Another warning: I suck at measuring when I cook.

It’s not that I can’t measure stuff or that I don’t have the most amazing stainless steel measuring spoons and cups you’ve ever seen it’s just that I learned how to cook from the women in my life when I was younger and so learned their ways:

A pinch of this
A dash of that and…
Oh! I bet this would be great in this dish! Lets chuck it in and see how it goes!

Aka: I roll by the seat of my pants most times when cooking and baking.

Sometimes it works sometimes not but most of the time I rule the kitchen and hope I remember what I did to create the most recent kick ass dish that I’m being told I must make again…

So.  I will do my best to quote precise quantities for the ingredients in this dish but use your taste buds and flavor preferences when adding them.  That and common sense and I know it’s spot the hell on.

Maybe you like your food butt burning, “Houston! I have now lost control of my salivary glands & ability to taste!” hot; just like me so you chuck some Ghost Chile Powder (Thank you Minhy!!!) Crushed Red Chile Pepper Flakes and or Cayenne Chile Powder into it.

Portable Heat!  Red Chile Pepper Flakes, Ghost Chile Peppers & Taco Seasoning

Portable Heat!
Red Chile Pepper Flakes, Dried & Ground Ghost Chile Peppers & Taco Seasoning

 

[ecaption id=”attachment_313″ align=”aligncenter” width=”300″]Ghost Chile Powder Freshly grown, harvested, dried & ground Ghost Chile Power… It’s amazing & compliments of my friend Minh ;)[/caption]

Or you hate hot food.  Either way the flavors & ingredients are strong enough in this recipe to cover us all; and then some.

For those counting carbs and living a low-carb high-fat (lchf) lifestyle there are beans out there lower in carbs than the pinto so although I haven’t yet used them it’s a viable option if the carbs are too high in this dish for you.

But lets be honest.  In this entire 16 ounce can of Rosarita Beans the total digestible carbs are only 36 so unless your eating the entire dish in one sitting you’re sitting mighty fine.

Blessing:  It is unbelievably filling leaving you pleasantly sated for hours so a lil bit goes a long way.

For those who don’t give a damn? You’ve just stumble onto a new recipe nearly everyone is going to request from you so don’t be stingy; share and pay-it-forward.

Here we go: INGREDIENTS

Heat your oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

1 brick of Cream Cheese-preferably NOT non-fat or low fat but hey, that’s up to you.

1, 16 ounce can of Refried Beans.  (I prefer Rosarita brand “Traditional” variety)

Cheese– It’s your choice but it’s got to be grated. I love a mixture of Monterey Jack & Mild-Medium Cheddar. I love Sharp Cheddar but it’s fat content is too low so it will not melt nor blend well. Pepper Jack works beautifully!

Mix it up adding what you like just know that the ‘white’ creamy cheeses makes a huge difference in the dips overall creaminess and smooth texture.
Amount: Start with 2 cups; separated into equal parts

Taco Seasoning– Start with 1 packet or about 3 Tlbs. Personally I buy it in bulk at Costco and use a lot of it. I’d say about 1/8th of a cup to start but I allow my taste buds to guide me.

Hot chile powders of your choosing if you love it hot – add to taste.

Me? I dump them in and then dump in some more just to ensure it’s flaming hot.

Now Mix:

Cream Cheese: Either let it warm to room temp or microwave just enough to soften it to the consistency of room temp butter.

Using a fork stir until it’s nice and creamy. No lumps.

Add Taco Seasoning and hot chile powders if you’re using them into the cream cheese.

Blend well. Let sit.

Refried beans: Add them to the cream cheese mixture and stir; blending well.

Cheese: Add 1 cup to the cream cheese mixture; stir, incorporating it into your cream cheese-bean mixture.

Let’s bake this beauty!

Transfer the mixture into a shallow baking dish of your choice. Level it smoothing it out.

Top with remaining cheese. You can add more or less depending on your preferences.

Me? I add more.

Bake uncovered in your 400 degree oven for 20 minutes or until cheese on-top is melted, bubbling and browned.

Remove.

Tear it up!

Me? Well, I love mine with fresh sour cream dumped on-top of my serving. Sometimes some Tapatio sauce too.

Chips: Any chip you like.

Me? Currently I only use Trader Joe’s Soy & Flaxseed Spicy Tortilla Chips as to date they are the highest in flavor, fiber, nutrition and lowest in carbohydrates I’ve yet to find.

TJ's Trader Joe's Soy & Flax Seed Spicy Low Carb Tortilla Chips

Trader Joe’s Soy & Flax Seed “Spicy” Tortilla Chips

 

Carb  as well as other counts on back of TJ's bag O' delicious lower carb Tortilla Chips...

Carb as well as other counts on back of TJ’s bag O’ delicious lower carb Tortilla Chips…

Ingredients list for TJ's Soy & Flax Seed Spicy Tortilla Chips Lower Carb

Ingredients list for TJ’s Soy & Flax Seed Spicy Tortilla Chips Lower Carb

If you’ve managed to locate another low-carb chip please do share as I’m always looking for alternatives.

I’ve added some pics for ya too. The TJ’s Soy & Flaxseed Spicy Tortilla Chip bag and it’s nutritional & ingredient label for starters….

Lastly, this appetizer is also great re-warmed so it travels well allowing you to re-heat it upon arrival or simply enjoy leftovers later.

Cheezy Bean Dip... Status-Post removal from the oven ;)

Cheezy Bean Dip…
Status-Post removal from the oven 😉

Enjoy and please share your feedback with me.  I’m open to learning new additions and spins on the original 😉

Jana Leigh Thomas-Ortega

theartofthisnthat.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “KiCk AsS Cheezy Bean Dip: Hot

Leave a Reply

